LISTSERV mailing list manager LISTSERV 16.0

Help for ARSCLIST Archives


ARSCLIST Archives

ARSCLIST Archives


ARSCLIST@LISTSERV.LOC.GOV


View:

Message:

[

First

|

Previous

|

Next

|

Last

]

By Topic:

[

First

|

Previous

|

Next

|

Last

]

By Author:

[

First

|

Previous

|

Next

|

Last

]

Font:

Proportional Font

LISTSERV Archives

LISTSERV Archives

ARSCLIST Home

ARSCLIST Home

ARSCLIST  November 2019

ARSCLIST November 2019

Subject:

November 2019 issue of Black Grooves

From:

"Nelson-Strauss, Brenda" <[log in to unmask]>

Reply-To:

Association for Recorded Sound Discussion List <[log in to unmask]>

Date:

Fri, 1 Nov 2019 15:29:11 +0000

Content-Type:

text/plain

Parts/Attachments:

Parts/Attachments

text/plain (24 lines)

The November 2019 issue of Black Grooves, sponsored by the Indiana University Archives of African American Music and Culture<https://aaamc.indiana.edu/>, is now available at www.blackgrooves.org<http://www.blackgrooves.org>.

This month we’re featuring three classical music releases: composer Gabriel Prokofiev’s Saxophone Concerto & Bass Drum Concerto<http://blackgrooves.org/branford-marsalis-featured-in-gabriel-prokofievs-saxophone-concerto/> (ft. Branford Marsalis and Joby Burgess), Devonté Hynes (aka Blood Orange) & Third Coast Percussion’s collaboration on Fields<http://blackgrooves.org/devonte-hynes-third-coast-percussion-fields/>, and Wynton Marsalis’s Violin Concerto and Fiddle Dance Suite<http://blackgrooves.org/wynton-marsaliss-violin-concerto-fiddle-dance-suite/> (ft. Nicola Benedetti).

New jazz releases include Kirk Whalum’s collaboration with artists from around the globe on Humanité<http://blackgrooves.org/kirk-whalum-humanite/>, Cuban pianist Roberto Fonseca’s Yesu<http://blackgrooves.org/roberto-fonseca-yesun/>, Richie Goods’ My Left Hand Man: A Tribute to Mulgrew Miller<http://blackgrooves.org/richie-goods-my-left-hand-man-a-tribute-to-mulgrew-miller/>, and The Frankie Newton Collection 1929-46<http://blackgrooves.org/the-frankie-newton-collection-1929-46/>, a three disc set honoring the late, great trumpet player.

Three new gospel music releases capture sounds of the ‘60s and ‘70s: He’s On Time<http://blackgrooves.org/harlem-gospel-travelers-hes-on-time/> from the quartet revival group Harlem Gospel Travelers, Nobody’s Fault But My Own<http://blackgrooves.org/the-sensational-barnes-brothers-nobodys-fault-but-my-own/> from the Sensational Barnes Brothers, and the reissue of Elizabeth King & The Gospel Souls’ D-Vine Spirituals Recordings<http://blackgrooves.org/elizabeth-king-and-the-gospel-souls-the-d-vine-spirituals-recordings/>.

Under the category of R&B, soul, rock and funk there’s Rissi Palmer’s uplifting Revival<http://blackgrooves.org/rissi-palmer-revival/>, Calvin Richardson’s smooth R&B vocals on Gold Dust<http://blackgrooves.org/calvin-richardson-gold-dust/>, Living Colour vocalist Cory Glover’s collaboration with Stevie D Torn from the Pages<http://blackgrooves.org/stevie-d-ft-corey-glover-torn-from-the-pages/>, and the New York funk group Hornç Electric Band’s self-titled debut<http://blackgrooves.org/the-horne-electric-bands-self-titled-debut/>.

International releases include the compilations Brutal Africa: Heavy Metal Cowboys of Botswana <http://blackgrooves.org/various-artists-brutal-africa-the-heavy-metal-cowboys-of-botswana/> and Warrior Women of Afro-Peruvian Music<http://blackgrooves.org/various-artists-the-warrior-women-of-afro-peruvian-music/>, the Haitian roots revival collective Lakou Mizik’s collaboration with New Orleans’ artists on HaitiaNola<http://blackgrooves.org/lakou-mizik-haitianola/>, and a reissue of  the 1977 album Ewondo Rythm<http://blackgrooves.org/ondigui-and-bota-tabansi-international-ewondo-rythm/> by Ondigui and Bata Tabansi International.

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, Homeless Oakland Heart<http://blackgrooves.org/homeless-oakland-heart-collective-homeless-oakland-heart/>, released to coincide with World Homeless Day, offers a collection of songs and stories recorded live on the streets of Oakland with all proceeds going to the Coalition for the Homeless.

Wrapping up this issue is our comprehensive list of October 2019 Black Music Releases of Note<http://blackgrooves.org/october-2019-black-music-releases-of-note/>.

Brenda Nelson-Strauss
Editor, Black Grooves
Archives of African American Music & Culture
Indiana University
www.blackgrooves.org
https://aaamc.indiana.edu/
[log in to unmask]

Top of Message | Previous Page | Permalink

Advanced Options


Options

Error during command authentication.

Error - unable to initiate communication with LISTSERV (errno=111). The server is probably not started.

Log In

Log In

Get Password

Get Password


Subscribe or Unsubscribe

Subscribe or Unsubscribe


Archives

ATOM RSS1 RSS2



LISTSERV.LOC.GOV

CataList Email List Search Powered by the LISTSERV Email List Manager