Network Bulletin No 03-45a

Date:   November 21. 2003

Subject: Awards
Index Term: Nominations for the Francis Joseph Campbell Citation and Award

The Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies

(ASCLA), American Library Association, has asked that we provide
information about the Francis Joseph Campbell Citation and Award.
Guidelines and a nomination form are attached.  The deadline for

submission is December 15, 2003.

For further information contact:

Carolyn Hoover Sung
Chief, Network Division



Francis Joseph Campbell Award

An award consisting of a citation and a medal presented to a person who has made an
outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for the blind and physically
handicapped. This contribution may take the form of an imaginative and constructive
program in a particular library; a recognized contribution to the national library program for
blind persons; creative participation in library associations or
organizations that advance reading for the blind; a significant publication or writing in the
field; imaginative contribution to library administration, reference, circulation, selection,
acquisitions, or technical services; or any activity of recognized importance. Administered
by the Libraries Serving Special Populations Section.

1966 _ Howard Haycraft
1967 _ Kenneth Jernigan
1968 _ Robert Stuart Bray
1969 _ Alexander Joseph Skrzypek
1970 _ Alexander Scourby
1971 _ Anne Thompson MacDonald
1972 _ Keith W. Jennison and Frederick A. Thorpe
1973 _ Marjorie S. Hooper
1974 _ Senator Jennings Randolph
1975 _ Arthur Helms
1976 _ Charles Gallozzi
1977 _ Adeline Franzel
1978 _ Richard Kinney
1979 _ Jenny W. Beck and Volunteer Services for the Blind
1980 _ Bernard M. Krebs
1981 _ Bianca Judith Lastrapes
1982 _ Frank Kurt Cylke and the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically
     Handicapped staff
1983 _ Raymond C. Kurzweil
1984 _ Maxine B. Dorf
1985 _ Frances A. Koestler
1986 _ Robert J. Levy
1987 _ William F. Gallagher
1988 _ James G. Chandler
1989 _ Carson Y. Nolan
1990 _ James R. DeJarnatt
1991 _ Stuart Carothers
1992 _ Eunice G. Lovejoy
1993 _ Mary A. Roatch
1994 _ Richard C. Peel
1995 _ Dr. Barry Cronin
1996 _ Miriam Pace
1997 _ Senator John Chafee
1998 _ Gerald A. Buttars
1999 _ Donald John Weber
2000 _ Dr. Norman R. Coombs
2001 _ Barbara Mates
2002 _ Julie Klauber
2003_ James R. Fruchterman

__Francis Joseph Campbell Citation and Award Nomination Form for 2004__

Nomination submitted by (your name):





I nominate the following person/institution for the Francis Joseph Campbell Citation and
Award for 2004.




Please attach the following documentation:
     a nomination letter, describing the ways that the nominee fulfills the criteria
     the resume of the nominee or a description of his/her appropriate activities and
     two letters of endorsement containing specific reasons for supporting the nomination

__Please send this documentation by December 15, 2003  to:

Ruth J. Nussbaum, committee chair
Reference Librarian
National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLS)
Library of Congress
Washington, DC 20542
(202) 707-9286
(202)707-0712 fax
[log in to unmask]