Nominations for 2004 ARSC Awards for Excellence

You are invited to propose candidates for the 2004 Association for
Recorded Sound Collections (ARSC) Awards for Excellence in Historical
Recorded Sound Research.  Nominations may be made by anyone, whether or
not a member of ARSC.  Eligible publications include any printed
work-book, monograph, article, liner notes-first published during 2003.
The work may be on any subject related to recorded sound.  This includes
histories, discographies, and recording artist biographies in any field
of music, speech or technology, genre (classical, popular, rock, jazz,
country, folk, spoken word, labels, phonographs, etc.), as well as
modern techniques for the preservation or reproduction of older
recordings.  The work should deal primarily with historical periods,
defined as at least ten years prior to publication (e.g., pre-1993),
with the exception of works related to preservation and technology.  

Winners are chosen by an ARSC Awards Committee consisting of the Editor
of the ARSC Journal (Barry Ashpole), the President of ARSC (James
Farrington), and five elected judges representing specific fields of
study. The 2004 ARSC Awards panel of judges consists of the following
authorities: David Hamilton  (music critic for The Nation, contributor
to Opus,  and  an authority on classical music research.); Dan
Morgenstern (Director, Institute of Jazz Studies, Rutgers University, an
authority on jazz.); Richard Spottswood (record producer, author and
broadcaster; an authority on folk and ethnic music); William L. Schurk
(sound recordings archivist, Bowling Green State University; an
authority on popular music); and Cary Ginell (record producer, author,
broadcaster; an authority on American roots music).  

Finalists will most likely be announced at the joint conference of the
Association for Recorded Sound Collections and the Society for American
Music to be held in Cleveland, Ohio, on March 10-14, 2004.  Winners will
be announced in June, 2004.

Nominations for Lifetime Achievement and Distinguished Service to
Historic Recordings Awards

The committee also welcomes nominations for the ARSC Lifetime
Achievement Award and the Award for Distinguished Service to Historic
Recordings.   The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented annually to an
individual in recognition of his or her life's work in published
recorded sound research.  The new Award for Distinguished Service to
Historic Recordings is presented annually to an individual who has made
contributions of outstanding significance to the field of historic
recordings in forms other than published works or discographic research.

The deadline for nominations is January 31, 2004.   The Awards Committee
especially welcomes information concerning eligible journal articles as
well as foreign and small press publications that might otherwise be
overlooked.  Additional information about ARSC, including a list of past
ARSC Award winners, may be found at  

Please forward the author, title, publisher, and publisher's address for
each nominee to:   

Michael Gray 
ARSC Awards Committee
1019 Crestwood Drive
Alexandria, VA  22302-2408
(W) 202-619-0878  (H) 703-684-8244
Fax: 202-260-1229
E-mail: [log in to unmask]