Network Bulletin No:  04-28

         Date:  May 14, 2004

         Subject:  Awards
         Index term:     Schneider Family Book Award

        On February 20, 2004, the American Library Association announced the winners of
        the Schneider Family Book Award.  This new award, donated by Dr. Katherine
        Schneider, honors an author or illustrator of a book that embodies an artistic
        expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences (see News,
        July-September 2003).  An award recipient is selected in each of three categories:
        grade school (up to 10 years old), middle school (age 11-13), and teens (age 13-18).
        Each recipient of the 2004 Schneider Family Book Award will receive $5,000 and a
        framed plaque, which will be presented on Tuesday, June 29, during the ALA Annual
        Conference in Orlando, Florida.

        Glenna Lang, author and illustrator of __Looking Out for Sarah__ (Charlesbridge
        Publishing) won for the grade school category.  This book, about the bond between a
        blind musician and her Labrador retriever guide dog, was produced by NLS in
        contracted braille as print/braille book BR 14009 for grades kindergarten through 3.

        Wendy Mass, author of __A Mango-Shaped Space__ (Little, Brown & Company
        Children's Publishing), won for the middle school category.  The novel tells the story
        of a 13-year-old girl who comes to terms with a rare neurological condition that
        causes her to perceive words and sounds as colors. Currently in process, this book
        will be available on cassette as RC 56666.

        Andrew Clements, author of __Things Not Seen__ (Philomel Books), is the winner
        for teens.  In this novel, two teenagers overcome their sense of isolation through
        empathy with one another's difference.  This book is available on cassette as RC

        Members of the 2004 Schneider Family Book Award Committee are Ellen J. Perlow,
        Texas Woman's University Libraries, Denton, Texas (chair); Mary E. Cissell,
        Texas Woman's University, Denton, Texas; Judith M. King, Waunakee, Wisconsin;
        Rory Litwin, Sacramento, California; Judy T. Nelson, Pierce County Library System,
        Tacoma, Washington; Victor Lynn Schill, Harris County Public Library, Houston,
        Texas; and Patricia M. Steelman, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.  For further
        information about the Schneider award contact Cheryl Malden, ALA Program Office,
        telephone (312) 280-3247, e-mail <[log in to unmask]> .

        For further information, contact:

        James Herndon
        Collection Development Section