The Ad Hoc Working Group on Encoded Archival Context (EAC)** is pleased to
announce the release of the Beta version of EAC.

Encoded Archival Context (EAC) is an ongoing initiative within the
international archival community to design and implement a prototype
standard based on Extensible Markup Language (XML) for encoding
descriptions of record creators. The primary developers of this prototype
standard are members of the international archival community. The
description of individuals, families, and organizations that create records
is an essential component of the preservation of the documentary evidence
of human activity. Identifying record creating entities; recording the
names or designations used by and for them; and describing their essential
functions, activities, and characteristics, and the dates and places they
were active is an essential component of the management of archival
records. Creator description facilitates both access to and interpretation
of records.

The maintenance site for EAC is

The authoritative version of EAC Beta is in the form of an XML DTD.
Alternatively, a W3C Schema and a Relax NG Schema are also available. The
EAC Tag Library provides a structural overview and definitions and
descriptions of elements and attributes.

The Beta release of EAC is intended for experimental usage only. Projects
experimenting in the use of EAC are encouraged, and reports and suggestions
and comments are welcome.

The eac-l listserv (<mailto:[log in to unmask]>[log in to unmask])
will function as the primary discussion forum for EAC and its ongoing
maintenance and development. Interested individuals will find instructions
for subscribing to the eac-l at


The EAC Tag Library will continue to be edited and expanded. The members of
the archival community are encouraged to submit encoded examples to eac-l
for consideration of inclusion in the Tag Library.

**Ad Hoc Working Group on Encoded Archival Context

Tone Merete Bruvik (University of Bergen; EU LEAF)
Adrian Cunningham (National Archives of Australia; ISAAR)
Wendy Duff (University of Toronto)
Joanne Evans (Australian Science and Technology Centre,
   University of Melbourne)
Margaret Hedstrom (University of Michigan)
Hans Hofman (Information Policy Department, Ministry of the
Interior, The Netherlands)
Gunnar Karlsen (University of Bergen; EU LEAF)
Bob Krawczyk (Archives of Ontario)
Michelle Light (Northeastern University)
Gavan McCarthy (Australian Science and Technology Centre,
   University of Melbourne)
Per-Gunnar Ottosson (Riksarkivet, Sweden; EU LEAF; ISAAR)
Daniel Pitti (Institute for Advanced Technology in the
   Humanities, University of Virginia)
Kathleen Roe (New York State Archives)
Dick Sargent (National Archives, U.K.; ISAAR)
Richard Szary (Yale University)
Anne Van Camp (RLG)
Stefano Vitali (Archivio di Stato di Firenze; ISAAR)
Katherine Wisser (Duke University)
Stephen Yearl (Yale University)