In case you hadn't heard. Sorry if you've already received from another


---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Mon, 28 Nov 2005 09:17:14 -0000
From: Maggie Jones <[log in to unmask]>
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: 2005 Conservation Awards

The 2005 Conservation Awards were held at the Clore Centre, British
Museum, on Tuesday 22 November.  It was a wonderful event, really
showcasing the incredible work going on in the field of conservation and
it was great to integrate the digital preservation award with other
diverse forms of cultural heritage.  The party atmosphere was also
heightened by the fact that it was the 10th anniversary of the awards.

Five categories of Awards were given:

The Anna Plowden Trust Award for Research and Innovation, sponsored by
the Anna Plowden Trust.  Winner, Mark Bambrough for his innovative
approach to protection for stained glass.  Presented by Francis Plowden,
Anna Plowden Trustee.

The Digital Preservation Award, sponsored by the Digital Preservation
Coalition.   Winner, The PREMIS team for their work on preservation
metadata.  Rebecca Guenther and Brian Lavoie, representing the PREMIS
team, were presented with their winning cheque by Loyd Grossman OBE FSA,
Broadcaster and Chair, Liverpool Museums.  

Student Conservator of the Year Award, sponsored by English Heritage.
Winner, Katey-Mary Twitchett and Northumbria University for her work on
the preservation of contemporary sculptures.  Presented by Dr Simon
Thurley, Chief Executive, English Heritage.

Award for Care of the Collections, a new award, sponsored by MLA.
Winner, Museum of London for their project to open up the collection at
the London Archaeological Archive and Research Centre (LAARC).  Jannicke
Langfeldt and
Eleanor Lanyon, representing the Museum of London team, were presented
with their award by Mark Wood, Chair of MLA and Chief Executive of ITN.

Award for Conservation, sponsored by Sir Paul McCartney.  Winner,
Context Engineering Ltd, for their work on the conservation of Force
Crag mine machinery in Cumbria, a National Trust Commission. Presented
by Neil MacGregor, Director, The British Museum.

Photographs of all winners are available from the main Conservation
Awards website at:
and more photos are also on the DPC website at:
including photographs of all five Digital Preservation Award shortlisted
project teams.

While not everyone could be a winner on the night, it was impossible not
to be impressed by each and every one of the shortlisted projects and
those viewing the very professionally designed audio-visual
presentations in the auditorium describing the shortlisted projects for
each of the five categories of award, couldn’t fail to be impressed and
excited at the exemplary effort being undertaken.  Poster presentations
in the foyer of the Clore Centre provided further opportunity for guests
to mingle and learn more about the projects.  

Further information about the Conservation Awards can be found at

Maggie Jones
Executive Secretary
Digital Preservation Coalition
Innovation Centre
York Science Park
YO10 5DG
e: [log in to unmask]
t: +44 (0) 1904 435 362

No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.1.362 / Virus Database: 267.13.8/184 - Release Date: