No.: 		05-58

Date:		December 2, 2005

Subject:	Awards 2005 Network Library Awards

NLS is pleased to announce that it will offer the 2005
Network Library of the Year Award in two categories: a regional library
and a subregional library.  This is the call for nominations for these
awards.  At a ceremony scheduled for April 4, 2006, these two awards will
recognize special achievement in 2005.

Time frame:  Beginning January 3, 2006, network libraries
may submit nominations.  The schedule is as follows:

	January 3February 3, 2006:	Nominations accepted
	February 7March 4, 2006:  	Nominations reviewed
	April 4, 2006:   		Award ceremony held at the
					Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.  

Eligibility:  The award recipient must be an NLS network
regional or subregional library.

Purpose of award:   The purpose of the award is to commend
excellence, innovation, and special achievement in providing library
service to blind and physically handicapped individuals in a calendar

		Awards:  Each award includes $1,000, a plaque, and a
certificate for the network library, with a copy of the plaque and the
certificate for the administering agency.  A separate plaque recognizing
the recipients will be displayed at NLS.

Presentation:  The award will be presented at a luncheon
at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.  This special event for the
network libraries and their administering agencies will be reported in NLS
News, Library of Congress publications, and in a national news
release.  NLS will cover travel costs to the ceremony for a representative
of the network libraries and their administering agencies.

Selection criteria:  Nominations will be evaluated as follows:

1.	Mission support the extent to which the library
	reached or exceeded the ALA Revised Standards and Guidelines of Service
2.	Creativity and innovation the extent to which
	the library developed new patron services or marketed existing services in
	an exceptional manner
3.	Patron satisfactionthe extent to which the
	library met the needs of its patrons during the year
Nomination process:  Libraries must be nominated by a
patron, staff member, or manager of a network library or its administering
agency.  Submissions must explain how the nomination meets the appropriate
criteria, citing specific examples and providing supporting statistics for
2005.  Nominations must not exceed one page (250 words) for each
criterion.  Up to three supporting documents, such as newspaper articles,
reports, statistics, and other commendations, may be included.  

Deadline:  All nominations must be received by NLS no
later than February 3, 2006. 

Submission:  Nomination forms may be downloaded and
completed electronically at: 

Send the nomination form with supporting documentation to
ensure arrival at NLS by the deadline.  Nomination documentation must be
in accessible electronic format for subsequent distribution through the
Internet so that review panel members who may be blind can access
them.  Send all nominations by e-mail to [log in to unmask] or expedited
delivery service (FedEx or UPS) to the National Library Service for the
Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLS/BPH), Library of Congress, 1291
Taylor Street NW, Washington, DC 20542-4960, or fax them to
(202) 707-1690.  Nominations must not be sent through the U.S. Postal
Service.  If your submission has not been confirmed by February 7, please
contact Carolyn Hoover Sung at (202) 707-9300.

Selection process:  The nominations will be reviewed by a
committee consisting of seven members:  the chair, the chief of the NLS
Network Division, who will be a nonvoting member; one representative from
each of the three consumer groups (American Council of the Blind, Blinded
Veterans Association, and National Federation of the Blind); two
representatives from public libraries (to be selected by the chair); and
one representative from the North America/Caribbean Region of the World
Blind Union.  The committee will receive and screen nominations and submit
a list of finalists to the network regional conference chairs, who will
make the final selections. 

For more information contact:	Carolyn Hoover Sung 
				Chief, Network Division 
				[log in to unmask]