Network Bulletin No:     07-48

Date:       November 9, 2007

Subject:    Awards                                                    

Index term:   Nominations for Francis Joseph
Campbell Citation and Award  

The Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA), American Library
Association, has asked that we provide information about the Francis Joseph Campbell Citation and
Award.  Guidelines and a nomination form are attached.  The deadline for submission is December
14, 2007.


For further information contact:   

Carolyn Hoover Sung
Chief, Network Division

Francis Joseph Campbell Citation and Award 

Administered by the Libraries Serving Special Populations Section, the Francis Joseph Campbell
Award, which includes a citation and a medal, is presented to a person who has made an outstanding
contribution to the advancement of library service for blind and physically handicapped people.  This
contribution may take the form of an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; a
recognized contribution to the national library program for blind persons; creative participation in
library associations or organizations that advance reading for the blind; a significant publication or
writing in the field; an imaginative contribution to library administration, reference, circulation,
selection, acquisitions, or technical services; or any activity of recognized importance.

Past award winners by year are as follows:

1966   Howard Haycraft
1967   Kenneth Jernigan
1968   Robert Stuart Bray
1969   Alexander Joseph Skrzypek
1970   Alexander Scourby
1971   Anne Thompson MacDonald
1972   Keith W. Jennison and Frederick A. Thorpe
1973   Marjorie S. Hooper
1974   Senator Jennings Randolph
1975   Arthur Helms
1976   Charles Gallozzi
1977   Adeline Franzel
1978   Richard Kinney
1979   Jenny W. Beck and Volunteer Services for the Blind
1980   Bernard M. Krebs
1981   Bianca Judith Lastrapes 
1982   Frank Kurt Cylke and the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically
     Handicapped staff
1983   Raymond C. Kurzweil
1984   Maxine B. Dorf
1985   Frances A. Koestler
1986   Robert J. Levy
1987   William F. Gallagher
1988   James G. Chandler
1989   Carson Y. Nolan
1990   James R. DeJarnatt
1991   Stuart Carothers
1992   Eunice G. Lovejoy
1993   Mary A. Roatch
1994   Richard C. Peel
1995   Dr. Barry Cronin
1996   Miriam Pace
1997   Senator John Chafee
1998   Gerald A. Buttars
1999   Donald John Weber 
2000   Dr. Norman R. Coombs
2001   Barbara Mates
2002   Julie Klauber
2003   James R. Fruchterman
2004   Canadian National Institute for the Blind Library
2005   Judith M. Dixon and Wells B. Kormann
2006   Dr. Axel Schmetzke
2007   Sue O. Murdock

__Francis Joseph Campbell Citation and Award Nomination Form for 2008__

Nomination submitted by (your name):______________________________________________





I nominate the following person/institution for the Francis Joseph Campbell Citation and Award
for 2008.




Please attach the following documentation:
-- a nomination letter describing the ways that the nominee fulfills the criteria
-- the resume of the nominee or a description of his/her appropriate activities and contributions
-- two letters of endorsement containing specific reasons for supporting the nomination

__Please send this documentation by December 14, 2007, to:__
Jill Lewis, committee co-chair
Maryland State Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped
415 Park Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21201-3603
(410) 230-2454
800-964-9209 Maryland, D.C., and parts of Northern Virginia
(410) 333-2095 fax
[log in to unmask]