FLICC Awards 2007 — Call for Nominations

To honor the many innovative ways in which federal libraries,
librarians and library technicians are fulfilling the information
demands of government, business, research, scholarly communities and the
American public, the Federal Library and Information Center Committee
announces its national awards for federal librarianship for fiscal year
2007.  (All nominations must be faxed to the FLICC office no later than
February 1, 2008.  See below for details.) 

The 2007 award winners will be honored for their contributions to
federal library and information service at the annual FLICC Forum on
Federal Information Policies in Washington, D.C., September 12, 2008. To
further recognize these outstanding individuals and programs, a plaque
engraved with their names and the names of previous and subsequent
winners will be on permanent display in the FLICC offices at the Library
of Congress. 

Nominations are being accepted for these awards: 

Federal Library/Information Center of the Year 
This award commends the library or information center for outstanding,
innovative and sustained achievements during fiscal year 2007 in
fulfilling its organization's mission, fostering innovation in its
services and meeting the needs of its users. FLICC awards are given to
both small library/information centers (with a staff of 10 or fewer
federal and/or contract employees) and larger library/information
centers (with a staff of 11 or more federal and/or contract employees).
All nominations must be made on behalf of an entire library or
information center (e.g., main or branch library or information center).

Federal Librarian of the Year 
This award honors a federal librarian who demonstrates active and
innovative leadership and professionalism in the promotion and
development of library and information services during fiscal year 2007.
The nominee must be a federal employee and a practicing librarian in a
federal library or information center. 

Federal Library Technician of the Year 
This award recognizes the achievements of a federal library technician
during fiscal year 2007 for exceptional technical competency and
flexibility under changing work conditions. The nominee must be a
federal employee and a practicing paraprofessional or library technician
in a federal library or information center. Federal staff classified in
professional series are not eligible for this award, but may be eligible
for nomination as Federal Librarian of the Year. 

To obtain nomination materials, visit the Awards Working Group section
of the FLICC Web site ( The nomination
packet includes the nomination form, selection criteria and a list of
needed supporting materials. 

For questions, please send e-mail to [log in to unmask] 

Fax completed nomination packets to (202) 707-4825. All nominations
must be faxed no later than February 1, 2008. If a nominator does not
receive confirmation of the nomination by February 8, 2008, please
contact Lizzie Daniels by phone at (202) 707-4813.