Network Bulletin No.:    09-02

Date:       January 16, 2009

Subject:    Awards                                                    

Index term:  2008 nominations for    
Network Library Award

The National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped is calling for nominations for two
awards:  the 2008 Network Library of the Year Award and the 2008 Network Subregional Library of the
Year Award. 

__Purpose of awards:__  The awards commend excellence, innovation, and special achievement in
providing library service to blind and physically handicapped individuals in a calendar year.

__Eligibility:__  Only NLS network regional and subregional libraries may be nominated for the awards.


February 2 March 13, 2009:  Nominations accepted
March 17 April 17, 2009:  Nominations considered
une 19, 2009:  Ceremony at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.

__Awards:__  Each award recipient receives $1,000, a plaque, a certificate for the network library, and a
copy of the plaque and certificate for the administering agency.  A separate plaque recognizing the recipients
will be displayed at NLS.

__Selection criteria:__  Nominees will be selected according to the following criteria:

Mission support: the extent to which the library reached or exceeded the_ALA Revised Standards
and Guidelines of Service;_

Creativity and innovation: the extent to which the library developed new patron services or marketed
existing services in an exceptional manner; and

Patron satisfaction: the extent to which the library met the needs of its patrons during the year.

__Nomination process:__  Libraries must be nominated by a patron, staff, or manager of  a network
library, or by a member of its administering agency.  Nominations must include a separate one- to two-page
library profile summarizing highlights, types of services provided, number of patrons, and other supporting
statistics similar to information contained in fact sheets or annual reports.  Submissions must also explain
how the nominee meets the appropriate criteria, citing specific examples and providing supporting statistics
for 2008.  Nominations must not exceed one page (250 words) for each criterion.  Please include no more
than three supporting documents, such as newspaper articles, reports, statistics, and commendations. 
Submissions must include all supporting statements for each criterion and be in an accessible format so that
blind selection panel members can read them.

__Deadline:__  All nominations must be received by NLS no later than March 13, 2009.

__Submission:__  Nomination forms are attached and also may be downloaded from  The nomination form with supporting documentation must
arrive at NLS by March 13, 2009.  Nomination documentation must be in accessible electronic format so
that blind selection panel members can access them.  Send all nominations by e-mail to [log in to unmask] or by
expedited delivery service (FedEx or UPS) to the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically
Handicapped (NLS/BPH), Library of Congress, 1291 Taylor Street NW, Washington, DC 20542-4960;
Attn: Chief, Network Division.  Do not send nominations through the U.S. Postal Service.  If your
submission has not been confirmed by March 17, 2009,  please contact Carolyn Hoover Sung at 
(202) 707-9300.

__Selection process:__  The nominations will be reviewed by a committee consisting of seven members: the
chief of the NLS Network Division, who serves as chair and a nonvoting member; one representative from
each of the three consumer groups (American Council of the Blind, Blinded Veterans Association, and
National Federation of the Blind); and two representatives from public libraries (to be selected by the chair). 
The committee will review the nominations and submit a list of finalists to the NLS director and the four
network regional conference chairs, who will recommend the final selections.

__Presentation:__  The award will be presented during a luncheon at the Library of Congress in
Washington, D.C., on Wednesday, June 19, 2009.  This special event honoring the Network Library Award
winners and their administering agencies will be featured in NLS News, Library of Congress publications,
and in a national news release.  NLS will cover travel costs to the ceremony for a representative of each
network library and a representative of their administering agency.

For more information contact:    
Carolyn Hoover Sung
Chief, Network Division
[log in to unmask]

[Attachment:  This bulletin contained a print attachment when mailed to the network on Jannary 16, 2009.]