Nominations are DUE June 15!

FLICC Recognizes Outstanding Federal Libraries, Librarians and Library Technicians

To honor the many innovative ways in which federal libraries, librarians and library technicians are fulfilling the information demands of government, business, research, scholarly communities and the American public, the Federal Library and Information Center Committee (FLICC) announces it is opening nominations for its national awards for federal librarianship for fiscal year 2009. Many times it is difficult to show such achievement in just one fiscal year, but past winners have produced outstanding results for supporting their agency missions in just 12 months.

FLICC fosters excellence in federal library and information services through interagency cooperation and provides guidance for the Federal Library and Information Network (FEDLINK). Created in 1965 and headquartered at the Library of Congress, FLICC also makes recommendations on federal library and information policies, programs and procedures to federal agencies and to others concerned with libraries and information centers.

The 2009 award winners will be honored for their contributions to federal library and information service at the annual FLICC Forum on Federal Information Policies in Washington, D.C., in October 2010. To recognize these outstanding individuals and programs further, a plaque engraved with their names and the names of previous and subsequent winners will be on permanent display in the FLICC offices at the Library of Congress.

Nominations are being accepted for these awards:

Federal Library/Information Center of the Year

This award commends the library or information center for outstanding, innovative and sustained achievements during fiscal year 2009 in fulfilling its organization's mission, fostering innovation in its services and meeting the needs of its users. FLICC awards are given to both small library/information centers (with a staff of 10 or fewer federal and/or contract employees) and larger library/information centers (with a staff of 11 or more federal and/or contract employees). All nominations must be made on behalf of an entire library or information center (e.g., a main or branch library or information center).

Winners in 2008 were the Information Services Division / National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Research Library in Gaithersburg, Md. (large); and Hurlburt Field Library, U.S. Air Force, Hurlburt Field, Fla. (small).

Federal Librarian of the Year

This award honors a federal librarian who demonstrates active and innovative leadership and professionalism in the promotion and development of library and information services during fiscal year 2009. The nominee must be a federal employee and a practicing librarian in a federal library or information center. FLICC recognized Dr. Verlene Herrington, chief, U.S. Army Military Intelligence Library, Fort Huachuca, Ariz., as the 2008 Federal Librarian of the Year.

Federal Library Technician of the Year

This award recognizes the achievements of a federal library technician during fiscal year 2009 for exceptional technical competency and flexibility under changing work conditions. The nominee must be a federal employee and a practicing paraprofessional or library technician in a federal library or information center. Federal staff classified in professional series are not eligible for this award, but may be eligible for nomination as Federal Librarian of the Year. In 2008, the Federal Library Technician of the Year was Lawana Gladney, library technician in the Department of Justice Library System.

To obtain nomination materials, visit the Awards Working Group section of the FLICC website (, call (202) 707-4800 or send an e-mail to [log in to unmask]. The nomination packet includes the nomination form, selection criteria and a list of needed supporting materials. All completed nominations must be faxed to (202) 707-4825 no later than June 15, 2010.