Network Bulletin No.:            11-01


Date:         January 14, 2011                                                  


Subject:    Awards                                

Index term: 2010 Network Library of the Year Award and Subregional Library of the Year Award



The National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLS) is calling for nominations for two awards: the 2010 Network Library of the Year Award and the 2010 Network Subregional Library of the Year Award.


Purpose of awards: The awards commend excellence, innovation, and special achievement in providing library service to blind and physically handicapped individuals in a calendar year.


Eligibility: Only NLS network regional and subregional libraries may be nominated for the awards.




February 1BMarch 11, 2011: Nominations accepted


March 15BApril 15, 2011: Nominations considered


June 23, 2011: Ceremony held at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.


Awards: Each award recipient receives $1,000, a plaque, a certificate for the network library, and a copy of the certificate for the administering agency. A separate plaque recognizing the recipients will be displayed at NLS.


Selection criteria: Nominees will be selected according to the following criteria:

$ Mission supportCthe extent to which the library reached or exceeded the ALA Revised Standards and Guidelines of Service

$ Creativity and innovationCthe extent to which the library developed new patron services or marketed existing services in an exceptional manner

$ Patron satisfactionCthe extent to which the library met the needs of its patrons during the year




Nomination process: Libraries must be nominated by a patron, staff member, or manager of a network library, or by a member of its administering agency. Nominations must include a separate one- to two-page library profile summarizing highlights, types of services provided, number of patrons, and other supporting statistics similar to information contained in factsheets or annual reports. Submissions must also explain how the nominee meets the appropriate criteria, citing specific examples and providing supporting statistics for 2010. Nominations must not exceed one page (250 words) for each criterion. Please include no more than three supporting documents, such as newspaper articles, reports, statistics, and commendations. Submissions must include all supporting statements for each criterion and be in an accessible electronic format so that blind selection panel members can read them.


Deadline: NLS must receive all nominations no later than March 11, 2011.


Submission: Nominators must include complete contact information (name, address, phone number, and e-mail address) and describe their relationship to the nominated library. All nominations and supporting documentation must arrive at NLS by Friday, March 11, 2011. Nomination documentation must be in accessible electronic format so that blind selection panel members can read them. Nominations sent by e-mail should have a subject line ANomination 2010 Library of the Year.@ Send all nominations by e-mail to [log in to unmask] or by expedited delivery service (Fedex or UPS) to the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLS/BPH), Library of Congress, 1291 Taylor Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20542-4960; Attn: Chief, Network Division. Do not send nominations through the U.S. Postal Service. If your submission has not been confirmed by March 16, 2011, please contact Carolyn Hoover Sung at (202) 707-9300.


Selection Process: The nominations will be reviewed by a committee consisting of six members: the chief of the NLS Network Division, who serves as chair and a nonvoting member; one representative from each of the three consumer groups (American Council of the Blind, Blinded Veterans Association, and National Federation of the Blind); and two representatives from public libraries (to be selected by the chair). The committee will review the nominations and submit a list of finalists to the NLS director and the four network regional conference chairs, who will recommend the final selections.


Presentation: The awards will be presented during a luncheon at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. on Thursday, June 23, 2011. This special event honoring the Network Library Award winners and their administering agencies will be featured in NLS News, other Library of Congress publications, and in a national news release. NLS will cover travel costs to the ceremony for a representative of each winning network library and a representative of their administering agencies.



For further information contact:          

Carolyn Hoover Sung

Chief, Network Division


[log in to unmask]