NLS Operations Alert

No. 11-02

 

DATE    :     January 6, 2011

TO          :     Network Libraries

FROM   :     Stephen Prine

Subject :     Open forum at Midwinter Meeting

 

As you know, the Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA) is reviewing the Revised Standards and Guidelines of Service for the Library of Congress Network of Libraries for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (LC/NLS): 2005. The first public draft version of the proposed Standards and Guidelines may be reviewed on the project website at http://www.tapinformation.com/ASCLANLS.h­tm.

 

An open forum to discuss the first draft will be held on Monday, January 10, 2011, in Room 28D of the San Diego Convention Center during the Midwinter Meeting of the American Library Association. If you are unable to attend, you may participate in the forum live online via OPAL if your network configurations permit. The forum will begin at 11:00 a.m. (EST), 10:00 a.m. (CST), 9:00 a.m. (MST), and 8:00 a.m. (PST).

 

Comments on the Revised Standards and Guidelines should be sent to:

 

Tom Peters, CEO

TAP Information Services

6106 South Stillhouse Road

Oak Grove, MO 64075

(816) 616-6746

[log in to unmask]

 

 

For more information, contact:

     Stephen Prine

     Assistant Chief, Network Division

     [log in to unmask]