Network Bulletin No:11-21


            Date:         October 14, 2011


            Subject:   Awards                                                         Index term:  Nominations for Francis Joseph

                                                                                                            Campbell Citation and Award





The Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA), American Library Association, has asked that we share information about the Francis Joseph Campbell Citation and Award with you. The nomination form and guidelines are attached. The deadline for submission is December 15, 2011.


Note: The ASCLA Francis Joseph Campbell Award nomination form is available online at





For further information contact:   Carolyn Hoover Sung

                                                      Chief, Network Division

                                                      (202) 707-9300

                                                      [log in to unmask]                                                                  















Francis Joseph Campbell Citation and Award


The ASCLA Francis Joseph Campbell Award, which includes a citation and a medal, is presented to a person or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for blind and physically handicapped people. This contribution may take the form of an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; a recognized contribution to the national library program for blind persons; creative participation in library associations or organizations that advance reading for blind persons; a significant publication or writing in the field; an imaginative contribution to library administration, reference, circulation, selection, acquisitions, or technical services; or any activity of recognized importance.


Past award winners by year are:


1966 – Howard Haycraft

1967 – Kenneth Jernigan

1968 – Robert Stuart Bray

1969 – Alexander Joseph Skrzypek

1970 – Alexander Scourby

1971 – Anne Thompson MacDonald

1972 – Keith W. Jennison and Frederick A. Thorpe

1973 – Marjorie S. Hooper

1974 – Senator Jennings Randolph

1975 – Arthur Helms

1976 – Charles Gallozzi

1977 – Adeline Franzel

1978 – Richard Kinney

1979 – Jenny W. Beck and Volunteer Services for the Blind

1980 – Bernard M. Krebs

1981 – Bianca Judith Lastrapes

1982 – Frank Kurt Cylke and the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped staff

1983 – Raymond C. Kurzweil

1984 – Maxine B. Dorf

1985 – Frances A. Koestler

1986 – Robert J. Levy

1987 – William F. Gallagher

1988 – James G. Chandler

1989 – Carson Y. Nolan

1990 – James R. DeJarnatt

1991 – Stuart Carothers



Francis Joseph Campbell Award winners ... cont.



1992 – Eunice G. Lovejoy

1993 – Mary A. Roatch

1994 – Richard C. Peel

1995 – Dr. Barry Cronin

1996 – Miriam Pace

1997 – Senator John Chafee

1998 – Gerald A. Buttars

1999 – Donald John Weber

2000 – Dr. Norman R. Coombs

2001 – Barbara Mates

2002 – Julie Klauber

2003 – James R. Fruchterman

2004 – Canadian National Institute for the Blind Library

2005 – Judith M. Dixon and Wells B. Kormann

2006 – Dr. Axel Schmetzke

2007 – Sue O. Murdock

2008 – Michael M. Moodie

2009 – U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Raymond L. LaHood

2010 – Daniel W. Boyd

2011 – Jamal Mazrui




ASCLA Francis Joseph Campbell Award Nomination Form





Nominee Information


Name (Person/Institution)                                                                                               


Title & Organization (if applicable)                                                                                




Mailing Address                                                                                                              


E-mail Address                                       Preferred Phone No.                                        


Nominator Information


Name (Person/Institution)                                                                                               


Title & Organization (if applicable)                                                                                




Mailing Address                                                                                                              


E-mail Address                                       Preferred Phone No.                                        


Submission Guidelines

Submit the following materials with this form:

•   Nomination letter describing the ways that the nominee fulfills the criteria

•   Resume of the nominee and/or summary of the nominee’s appropriate activities and contributions

•   Two letters of endorsement containing specific reasons for supporting the nomination



Electronic submissions must be received by December 15.

E-mail to: [log in to unmask]  Subject line F.J. Campbell award nomination.

Mailed submissions must be received by December 15.

Mail to: Liz Markel, ATTN ASCLA Awards, American Library Association, 50 E. Huron Street, Chicago, IL 60611.


Questions: Contact Liz Markel, ASCLA Marketing & Program Manager, at (312) 280-4398 or [log in to unmask]