The CUA LIS Alumni Board is now accepting nominations for the 2014 Raymond Von Dran Memorial Award.

Then award recognizes Catholic University Library and Information Science alumni who demonstrate innovation, collaboration, and leadership in their library career. The deadline for nominations is Thursday, February 6, 2014.

The award will be presented at the 24th annual Elizabeth Stone Lecture, featuring ALA President, Barbara Stripling on April 4th.

Fellow alumni, employers, and colleagues are invited to nominate CUA SLIS/LIS Alumni for the award. Alumni are also welcome to nominate themselves.

Nominators are strongly encouraged to make a compelling case for the nominee. Please give specific examples of what makes the nominee truly unique when measured against the criteria of innovation, collaboration, and leadership.

Please use the following link to access the nomination form:

Nominations will be accepted through 11:59pm, February 6th.

The Raymond Von Dran Memorial Award is an award open to Catholic University School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) alumni, instituted in the memory of Raymond Von Dran, who served as the second Dean of SLIS (1983-87). Von Dran's final position was Dean of the School of Information Studies at Syracuse University.

Selection Criteria:
The LIS Alumni Association will grant this award. In doing so, we seek nominations of SLIS/LIS alumni who, through their contributions to the library and information profession, have exhibited the qualities Von Dran was noted for throughout his career: innovation, collaboration, and leadership.

Nominations, including self-nominations, will be accepted through February 6th. The LIS Alumni Board will make a selection of the final recipient with approval from the Dean.

Distinguished CUA SLIS Alumni who are past recipients of this honor include:

2013 - Martin Kalfatovic, Associate Director of Digital Services at the Smithsonian Institution Libraries and Program Director for the Biodiversity Heritage Library

2012 - James Patrick Timony, Adaptive Technology Librarian, Adaptive Services Department, DC Public Library

2011 - Lea J. Uhre, Director, Executive Office of the President Library

2010 - Barbara L. Post, Manager of Information Services, Transportation Research Board

2009 - Lynn Scott Cochrane, Director, Denison University Library

2008 - Kimberly Ferguson, Head of Information Services, U.S. Senate Library

For further information on the Raymond Von Dran award, see the Raymond Von Dran Memorial Award Information page:


Christopher J. Corrigan
2013-2014 President
Department of Library and Information Science Alumni Board
Catholic University of America