For Immediate Release

Mon, 09/08/2014


Charles Wilt

Executive Director


[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>

CHICAGO - Nominations are being accepted for the 2015 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award.  *The deadline for nominations is Nov. 19.*

*The Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award *recognizes the contribution of a library leader who has demonstrated exceptional service to ALCTS and its areas of interest (acquisitions, cataloging and classification, collection management and development, preservation and reformatting and continuing resources).  Selection of the winner is based on the person's accomplishments as they relate to:  recognized leadership in ALCTS; significant contribution to professional literature in ALCTS areas; exemplary research in ALCTS areas; leadership in other professional associations at local, state, regional or national level; acknowledged leader in and by the library community-at large; and recognition of achievements, e.g., awards, citations, etc.  The award winner receives a citation honoring his/her contributions and a stipend of $3,000 generously donated by EBSCO.  Nominees must be ALCTS members.  Self-nominations will not be accepted.

If you are interested in nominating a candidate, send that nomination, including the name, address, phone number and e-mail address of nominee and the person providing the nomination and a statement outlining  the qualifications of the individual based the award criteria to:  Emily McElroy, chair, Ross Atkinson Award Jury,  < [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>.> [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>. < [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>.>

Additional information such as a resume, C.V. or narrative career outline and letters of endorsement may be sought by the jury chair.

Visit the Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award page for more



ALCTS is a division of the American Library Association.