Print

Print


Google "Time at Baker Island".   Then Google "Time at Marshall Islands".   I got 9:58 Wednesday  on one and 11:58 Tuesday on the other. .

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Discussion of the Developing Date/Time Standards
> [mailto:[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of Edward C.
> Zimmermann
> Sent: Tuesday, November 24, 2015 2:40 PM
> To: [log in to unmask]
> Subject: Re: [DATETIME] 1/27 conference call notes: an instant can't be on 3
> different days
> 
> On Tue, 24 Nov 2015 13:56:03 -0500, Denenberg, Ray wrote
> > > From  [UTF-8?]SaaÅ¡ha Metsärantala
> >
> > > date -d '2015-11-22T23:00:00-12:00' +%s
> >
> > >
> >
> > > date -d '2015-11-23T12:00:00+01:00' +%s
> >
> > >
> >
> > > date -d '2015-11-24T01:00:00+14:00' +%s
> >
> > But UTC-12 is the same zone as UTC+12, isn't it.  So the above three
> would be:
> 
> 
> The clock time is the same but the day is different.
> 
> Right now it is:
> 
> 07:30 AM Wednesday, 25. November 2015 (GMT+12)
> 
> 07:30 AM Tuesday, 24. November 2015 (GMT-12)
> 
> Baker Island and the Marshall Islands are right now on two different days
> (Weds and Tues)!
> 
> >
> > 2015-11-23T12:00:00+01:00
> >
> > 2015-11-22T23:00:00+12:00
> >
> > 2015-11-24T01:00:00+14:00
> >
> > And +12 is between +1 and +14, meaning that it will be the same day as
> either the first or third.
> >
> > > > '1-1-1980/12-31-1980'
> >
> > >
> >
> > > > ..... is as close as you will get with the edtf spec: the interval
> beginning
> >
> > > some time during 1-1-1980 and ending some time during 12/31/1980.
> >
> > > Likewise
> >
> > >
> >
> > > 1980-01-01T00:00:00Z/1980-12-31T24:00:00Z
> >
> > >
> >
> > > would be the duration between (1) some instant during the first second
> of
> >
> > > the year 1980 and (2) the very last instant of that year. In other
> words, it
> >
> > > would be between 31622399 and 31622400 seconds long, depending om
> >
> > > "when" (during that second) within 1980-01-01T00:00:00 the measure
> was
> >
> > > made. There were no leap seconds that year.
> >
> > EDTF does not profile time within an interval, only dates.  So my point
> was that using the EDTF spec, that's the closest you'll get, but you can go
> outside EDTF and 8601 allows time within an interval.
> >
> > --Ray
> 
> 
> --
> 
> Edward C. Zimmermann, NONMONOTONIC LAB