Print

Print


The August 2016 edition of Black Grooves, sponsored by the Indiana University Archives of African American Music and Culture<http://www.indiana.edu/%7Eaaamc/>, has been posted at www.blackgrooves.org<http://www.blackgrooves.org>.
We're kicking this month off with the latest surprise release by R&B auteur Blood Orange, Freetown Sound<http://blackgrooves.org/blood-orange-freetown-sound/>.  August brings a full slate of other soul and R&B releases as well, including new albums by two established soul singer-songwriters: Anthony Hamilton's What I'm Feeling<http://blackgrooves.org/anthony-hamilton-what-im-feelin/> and William Bell's This is Where I Live<http://blackgrooves.org/william-bell-this-is-where-i-live/>.  We have a long-awaited set of recordings by Betty Davis compiled as The Columbia Years, 1968-69,<http://blackgrooves.org/betty-davis-the-columbia-years-1968-69/> featuring  a supporting cast of late 60s jazz-fusion luminaries, plus two additional compilations: Brook Benton's Rainy Night in Georgia: The Complete Reprise & Cotillion Singles A's and B's<http://blackgrooves.org/brook-benton-rainy-night-in-georgia-the-complete-reprise-cotillion-singles-as-and-bs/> and The Delfonics' 40 Classic Soul Sides<http://blackgrooves.org/the-delfonics-40-classic-soul-sides/>. Also featured is DJ Spinna Presents the Wonder of Stevie, Vol. 3,<http://blackgrooves.org/various-artists-dj-spinna-presents-the-wonder-of-stevie-vol-3/> an album full of Stevie Wonder covers by various artists.
In blues, we've reviewed Chicago guitarist Toronzo Cannon's newest release The Chicago Way,<http://blackgrooves.org/torenzo-cannon-the-chicago-way/> and harmonica virtuoso Sugar Blue's Voyage<http://blackgrooves.org/sugar-blue-voyage/>. In jazz, there's vibraphonist Warren Wolf's latest release Convergence,<http://blackgrooves.org/warren-wolf-convergence/> plus two compilations of previously unreleased Stan Getz recordings from the 1970s, Moments in Time and Getz/Gilberto '76<http://blackgrooves.org/two-new-stan-getz-releases-on-resonance/>.
In rock, we're featuring Fantastic Negrito's (re)inventive album The Last Days of Oakland,<http://blackgrooves.org/fantastic-negrito-the-last-days-of-oakland/> and in rap we're breaking down Talib Kweli's F*ck the Money<http://blackgrooves.org/talib-kweli-fuck-the-money/>, a free self-released screed against commercialism.  Under the category of world music is the Pan-African reggae of Fidel Nadal's Tek a Ship<http://blackgrooves.org/fidel-nadal-tek-a-ship/>.
Finally, we're featuring a book review of Jean E. Snyder's Harry T. Burleigh: From the Spiritual to the Harlem Renaissance<http://blackgrooves.org/book-harry-t-burleigh-from-the-spiritual-to-the-harlem-renaissance/>, which charts the life and work of the seminal Black composer.
Wrapping up this month's issue is our list of July 2016 releases of note<http://blackgrooves.org/july-2016-releases-of-note/>.


Brenda Nelson-Strauss
Editor, Black Grooves
Archives of African American Music and Culture
Indiana University
[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>
www.blackgrooves.org<http://www.blackgrooves.org>