Print

Print


Using and Understanding Library of Congress Classification—eCourse

https://www.alastore.ala.org/content/using-and-understanding-library-congress-classification—ecourse
facilitated by Bobby Bothmann

This four-week eCourse begins on October 8, 2018. Participation requires approximately four to five hours a week, at times that fit your schedule. The course content offers you a comprehensive grounding in Library of Congress Classification (LCC) principles and practice. Starting with the basics, this eCourse will teach you how to assign LCC numbers with correct meaning in hierarchy, build numbers using tables, and apply numbers that help patrons browse your library.

All reading material is provided in the eCourse, which makes use of the free LCC schedules. There is a demonstration of the Classification Web tool, but access to the tool is not necessary and the tool is not used in the eCourse.


The eCourse includes synchronous and asynchronous small group discussions. There will be two live online sessions on Mondays, October 15 and 22, at 3:00pm Eastern/2:00pm Central/1:00pm Mountain/12:00pm Pacific, which will be recorded for those unable to attend live.

See the link above for detailed course information and registration instructions.


*******************************************
Bobby Bothmann
Metadata & Emerging Technologies Librarian
Professor, Library Services
Minnesota State University, Mankato
P.O. Box 8419, ML3097
Mankato, MN 56001
Voice: 507-389-2010
Fax: 507-389-5155
[log in to unmask]