Print

Print


The May 2019 issue of Black Grooves, sponsored by the Indiana University Archives of African American Music and Culture<https://aaamc.indiana.edu/>, is now available at www.blackgrooves.org<http://www.blackgrooves.org> Our featured title this month is Rhiannon Giddens' third solo album, there is no Other<http://blackgrooves.org/rhiannon-giddens-there-is-no-other/>, which speaks to the practice of "othering people" for economic and political gain.

New R&B/soul music releases include albums from both veterans and rising stars: the O'Jays' first studio album in 15 years, The Last Word<http://blackgrooves.org/the-ojays-the-last-word/>; Durand Jones & The Indications sophomore album American Love Call<http://blackgrooves.org/durand-jones-the-indications-american-love-call/>; Memphis band Southern Avenue's sophomore album Keep On<http://blackgrooves.org/southern-avenue-keep-on/>; British singer/songwriter/cellist Ayanna Witter-Johnson's classical-infused Road Runner<http://blackgrooves.org/ayanna-witter-johnson-road-runner/>; and Canadian soul star Tanika Charles' The Gumption<http://blackgrooves.org/tanika-charles-the-gumption/>.

Rolling Stones' back-up singer Bernard Fowler presents Inside Out<http://blackgrooves.org/bernard-fowler-inside-out/>, featuring covers of classic and lesser known Stone's songs in a spoken word style, and the New Orleans Jazz Orchestra offers the tribute album Songs: The Music of Allen Toussaint<http://blackgrooves.org/new-orleans-jazz-orchestra-songs-the-music-of-allen-toussaint/>.

Gospel music releases include Earl Bynum's This Song's For You<http://blackgrooves.org/earl-bynum-this-song-is-for-you/>, The Tommies Reunion (aka Thompson Community Singers) self-titled album<http://blackgrooves.org/the-tommies-reunion/>, and Live on the East Coast<http://blackgrooves.org/the-lee-boys-live-on-the-east-coast/> from Florida sacred steel group The Lee Boys.

Wrapping up this issue is our list of April 2019 Black Music Releases of Note<http://blackgrooves.org/april-2019-black-music-releases-of-note/>.

Brenda Nelson-Strauss
Editor, Black Grooves
Archives of African American Music & Culture
Indiana University
www.blackgrooves.org
https://aaamc.indiana.edu/
[log in to unmask]