NLS Operations Alert No. 20-18


DATE                     :  March 3, 2020

TO                          :  Network Libraries 

FROM                   :  Pamela Davenport, Network Consultant

SUBJECT               :  Library of the Year reminder


Nominations for the NLS 2019 Network Regional Library of the Year and the NLS 2019 Network Subregional Library or Advisory and Outreach Center of the Year awards are due by Monday, March 9, 2020. Please note that this reflects an extension from the original due date of March 6. This revised deadline is final.


The awards honor excellence and innovation in the NLS network of cooperating libraries and highlight the accomplishments of libraries over the past year and the vital importance of the service they provide to patrons.


The winner in each category will receive a $1,000 cash award, and representatives from each winning library and their administering agency will be invited to a celebratory awards luncheon at the Library of Congress on Wednesday, June 10, 2020. NLS will pay the cost of travel to Washington, DC.

The nomination process is intentionally simple—only four pages of summary information are required. For full details, please refer to Ops Alert 20 - 05


All nominations must be emailed to Pamela Davenport, NLS Network Consultant, at [log in to unmask], and have the subject line “Nomination 2019 Library of the Year.” Receipt of nominations will be confirmed via email. If your submission has not been confirmed by Wednesday, March 11, 2020, please contact Pamela at 202-707-8296.


For more information contact:

Pamela Davenport

Network Consultant