Print

Print


Some said the link didn't work. THIS Wednesday, December 2nd at 7PM EST (that’s 6PM CST, 5PM MT and 4PM PT) the topic is “"AT THE MINSTREL SHOW"AN EVENING WITH:TIM BROOKS & BILL DOGGETT, A one-of-a-kind evening with two remarkable historians and scholars and ARSC Members. 

 

Content advisory: The subject matter will contain racially derogatory language but is presented in the context with the social history of the early 20th Century. 

 

The events usually last 2 to 3 hours.

 

No matter where you live you can join it. It will not be archived or repeated. It is a free event but there will be a Tip Jar which you are encouraged to use.  

WEDNESDAY, DEC 02 @ 7:00PMWill Friedwald and CLIP JOINT LIVESTREAM PRESENTS:"AT THE MINSTREL SHOW"AN EVENING WITH:TIM BROOKS & BILL DOGGETTA one-of-a-kind evening with two remarkable historians and scholars:Tim Brooks - Grammy-winning historian and author of seven books including Lost Sounds: Blacks and the Birth of the Recording Industry, 1890-1919 (Music in American Life) and the new The Blackface Minstrel Show in Mass Media: 20th Century Performances on Radio, Records, Film and Television.Bill Doggett - Historian, scholar, lecturer, and one of the Manhattan School of Music's 2020-'21 Black Scholars.complete with rare footage of legendary African-American & Minstrelsy-influenced entertainers!Bill RobinsonScatman CrothersFlournoy MillerDusty FletcherAl JolsonEddie CantorBing CrosbyJudy GarlandFred AstairePerry ComoFred WaringShirley TempleThe Edison MinstrelsTHIS IS A FREE EVENT!BUT PLEASE REMEMBER OUR VIRTUAL TIP JAR!Just click below to join us on ZOOM:https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85679103002...Meeting ID: 856 7910 3002Passcode: 985167