Print

Print


** BIBFRAME'RS - this will be an informal, ask anything, meeting, and we 
want your feedback on this work. Thanks! **

Open Meeting December 17 16:00 UTC on Application Profiles

DCMI is holding an open meeting to discuss a new work product, a 
specification for tabular application profiles.

Many communities today create application profiles (APs) for their data. 
However, we lack a standard that would help those communities create, 
document, and share their metadata profiles.

Dublin Core Metadata Initiative has had profiles on its agenda since 
1999. This year a working group was formed to develop a simple, core 
vocabulary for the information carried in application profiles. Because 
profile documentation often takes the form of tables or spreadsheets, it 
was decided to create the initial vocabulary specifically in support of 
a tabular model. Although the vocabulary consists of only 12 elements, 
the model supports entity descriptions, property listings, cardinality 
rules and value rules. There is a primer [1] for the proposed profile 
template [2] and a vocabulary definition document. [3] We also have some 
proofs of concept in the “examples” folder. [4]

Discussion and work plans are at the project mailing list [5] and in 
github issues [6]. We welcome any and all participation in the work.

The meeting will be on Zoom, December 17, 16:00 UTC. (8am PST, 11am EST, 
5pm CET) (If there is interest beyond these time zones, let us know and 
we can do a separate meeting at a convenient time.) Register for the 
meeting at this link:

https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZYtceCrrT4qG9wnoBIMu2xoJ_MaL6v6ebxT

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email with 
instructions for joining the meeting.

[1] https://github.com/dcmi/dctap/blob/main/TAPprimer.md
[2] https://github.com/dcmi/dctap/blob/main/TAPtemplate.csv
[3] https://github.com/dcmi/dctap/blob/main/TAPvocabulary.md
[4] https://github.com/dcmi/dctap/tree/main/examples
[5] https://lists.dublincore.org/mailman/listinfo/application-profiles-ig
[6] https://github.com/dcmi/dcap/issues
-- 
Karen Coyle
[log in to unmask] http://kcoyle.net