Print

Print


Program Announcement: ALA Core Linked Data Interest Group session

 

ALA Core Interest Group week (http://www.ala.org/core/continuing-education/interest-group-week) is February 1 to 5, 2021.

 

Session Title: Troubleshooting Linked Data Authority Records

Time: Monday, Feb 1, 2021, 9:00 am-10:00 am PST / 11:00 am-12:00 pm CST/ 12:00 pm-1:00 pm EST

 

Information: https://alacorenews.org/events/linked-data-interest-group/

Register: https://ala-events.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJMqduGgrzooGtGEte7KZ1jHbRE2sqjFu7pf

 

When accessing or referencing linked data resources, catalogers or metadata librarians may encounter statements that seem incorrect. Sometimes linked data authorities for entities, particularly individuals and organizations, contain factual errors. How can these potential issues be assessed? Can individuals provide constructive feedback to the organization that hosts the authority record(s)? This session will discuss these issues, and how best practices may differ for different platforms and data sources.

 

Paul Frank, NACO/SACO Coordinator, Cataloging Policy Specialist, Library of Congress

Jonathan Ward, Senior Editor, Getty Vocabulary Program, Getty Institute

Nathan B. Putnam, Director, Metadata Quality, Global Product Management, OCLC

 

Thank you,

Annamarie Klose and Ben Riesenberg, Linked Data IG co-chairs

 

 

[log in to unmask]" alt="The Ohio State University">
Annamarie C. Klose, MLIS
Metadata Initiatives Librarian
Assistant Professor
The Ohio State University Libraries
120B Library Tech Center, 1165 Kinnear Road, Columbus, OH 43212
614-292-3257 Office
[log in to unmask] / library.osu.edu